The Norwood classification system, published by Dr.Otar Norwood in 1975, is the most widely used classification for hair loss in men. It defines two main models and a few less common types. In the normal Norwood pattern, two areas of hair loss grow slowly to provide stagnation in the temples and to thin the crown. These regions are joined until the whole front, top and crown of the scalp. Classification of Hair Loss in Men can be understood by examining following photos.

Class 1It represents an adolescent or young hairline and is not balding. The adolescent hairline is usually based on the upper eyebrow folds.

Class 2
Indicates a progression to the adult or mature hairline that sits a finger’s breadth (1.5cm) above the upper brow crease, with some temporal recession. This also does not represent balding.

Class 3
The earliest stage of male hair loss. It is characterized by a deepening temporal recession.

Class 3 Vertex
Represents early hair loss in the crown (vertex).

Class 4
Characterized by further frontal hair loss and enlargement of vertex, but there is still a solid band of hair across the top (mid-scalp) separating front and vertex.
Class 5
The bald areas in the front and crown continue to enlarge and the bridge of hair separating the two areas begins to break down.
Class 6Occurs when the connecting bridge of hair disappears leaving a single large bald area on the front and top of the scalp. The hair on the sides of the scalp remains relatively high.
Class 7 Patients have extensive hair loss with only a wreath of hair remaining in the back and sides of the scalp.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.